AGH Foundation Awards 2017 Fall Scholarships


The Allegan General Hospital Foundation recently awarded its 2017 fall Nursing and Healthcare Excellence Scholarships to Allegan Healthcare Group employees and their children in support of training and higher education studies in healthcare.

“Providing scholarships to those who wish to continue their studies to better serve others in healthcare is one of the most rewarding things we are able to do through the Allegan General Hospital Foundation,” said Jenifer Garcia, Allegan General Hospital Foundation Executive Director.

Allegan Healthcare Group team members who received scholarships were: Seth Belden (Gobles), Pain Management Center; Lynsie Bradley (Dorr), Acute Care; Courtney Cook (Gobles), Patient Access; Kevin Cooper (Allegan), Acute Care; Hannah Fenner (Hopkins), Emergency Department; Melissa Lasley (Allegan), Patient Access; Michelle Lemoine (Allegan), Allegan Medical Clinic; Bailey Ray (Kalamazoo), Patient Access; Shelly Ruthruff (Allegan), Perioperative Services; Darci Samuel (Allegan), House Supervisor; Marcie Torres (Otsego), Respiratory Therapy; Clint Weaver (Allegan), Information Technology; and Nicole Wright (Martin), Practice Manager of Allegan Orthopedic & Sports Medicine Center and Allegan General Surgery.

Six children of employees also received healthcare scholarship awards: Kelsey Adrion (Kalamazoo), Johnathan Doman (Gobles), Frederick Hicks II (Bangor), Kassandra Mollitor (Allegan), Katie Schultz (Kalamazoo), and Amanda Torres (Plainwell).

These scholarship recipients were honored at a ceremony on Thursday, December 7, at Allegan General Hospital in front of their peers, family members, and board members who attended to wish them well as they begin or continue their studies to gain further healthcare skills and knowledge to serve others.

The Allegan General Hospital Foundation awards scholarships twice yearly. Awards to high school students are presented each spring. The scholarship fund is made up of the Schuyler Mellen Education Endowment Fund, Marie Hall Nursing Scholarship Fund, Debra Rae Daniels Memorial Scholarship Fund, Chester Oisten Scholarship Fund, Robert Hayes Family Scholarship Fund, Francis Hamm Memorial Scholarship Fund, and a general scholarship fund maintained by the Allegan General Hospital Foundation. The Foundation’s scholarship awards are an important part of the organization’s mission to “invest in the health of our community.”

The Allegan General Hospital Foundation invites and accepts financial gifts to support important initiatives for Allegan Healthcare Group; Initiatives focused around vital areas that impact Education, Patient & Family Support, and Clinical Advancements for our patients, families and employees of Allegan Healthcare Group. For more information about the AGH Foundation, visit

Back to News Listing