AGH Foundation Awards 2017 Spring Scholarships


The Allegan General Hospital Foundation is excited to announce the 24 recipients of its 2017 Spring Scholarships Awards.  These awards are given out to graduating high school seniors pursuing a career in healthcare, as well as children of Allegan Healthcare Group employees and employees of Allegan Healthcare Group to support training and higher education studies in healthcare. 

The Foundation awarded $15,000 in scholarships during a ceremony held at Allegan General Hospital on Monday, June 5. High school students who received awards were:  Erika Freyhoff, Hamilton High School; Madison Haluch, Otsego High School; Joy Hunziker, Allegan High School; Taryn Kilbane, Hopkins High School; Alana Kugelard, Allegan High School;  Sydney Rehr, Plainwell High School; Emma Resendiz, Allegan High School;  Kaitlyn Shafer, Plainwell High School; Alexis TenBusschen, Gobles High School; and Megan Watkins, Bangor High School.

Allegan Healthcare Group team members that received scholarships were:  Matthew Balke (Otsego), Pharmacy;  Seth Belden (Gobles), Pain Management Center;  Lynsie Bradley (Dorr),  Acute Care; Ashley Brown (Martin), Allegan Orthopedic and Sports Medicine Center;  Ashley Christman (Allegan), Allegan Professional Health Services; Nicole Newton (Kalamazoo), Radiology; Bailey Ray (Kalamazoo), Patient Access; Shelly Ruthruff (Allegan), Surgical Services; Melissa Taber (Allegan), Food & Nutrition;  and Nicole Wright (Martin), Allegan General Surgery and Allegan Orthopedic and Sports Medicine Center.

“It is an absolute privilege to be able to award these well-deserving students and employees on behalf of the Allegan General Hospital Foundation. We received a tremendous response to our call for scholarship applications and our Scholarship Committee had a difficult task of selecting the top recipients” said Jen Garcia, Executive Director of the Allegan General Hospital Foundation. “Our most important asset in health care is the team of dedicated and talented people who provide care around the clock.  It is vitally important we invest in our current and future health care providers to meet a growing demand for health services.”

Children of Allegan Healthcare Group employees, who received scholarship awards include:  Amanda Cole (Allegan) who is pursuing her Bachelor of Science in Nursing at Hope College;  Johnathan Doman (Gobles), who just graduated from Gobles High School and will be attending Northern Michigan University to pursue a degree in Biochemistry/Pre-med;   Katie Schultz (Kalamazoo) who is attending Western Michigan University pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Athletic Training;  and Amanda Torres (Plainwell) who is attending Grace College pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in Counseling. 

The Allegan General Hospital Foundation awards scholarships twice yearly.  Awards to high school students are presented each spring. 

“It is through the generosity and commitment from our community of caring donors that these scholarship funds are made available each year,” stated Garcia.

The scholarship fund is made up of the Schuyler Mellen Education Endowment Fund, Marie Hall Nursing Scholarship Fund, Debra Rae Daniels Memorial Scholarship Fund, Chester Oisten Scholarship Fund, Bob Hayes Family Scholarship Fund, and a general fund maintained by the Allegan General Hospital Foundation.  The Allegan General Hospital Foundation invites and accepts financial gifts to help further the mission of “Investing in the Health of Our Community.” For more information about the Allegan General Hospital Foundation, please visit or call (269) 686-4234.

Back to News Listing